The Last Best Things of 2009

Hey everyone,

Chelsey and I are now spending most of our time getting ready for our show the 14th at the Space, but I am taking a break to write.
Here are more of the things I enjoyed in 2009

Books:
None of these came out in 2009, but I finally got around to reading them, and they were great.

The Violent Bear It Away – Flannery O’Connor
Sanctuary – William Faulkner
Ulysses –  James Joyce
Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction – J.D. Salinger
Suttree –  Cormac McCarthy
Middlemarch – George Eliot
The Grass Harp – Truman Capote
–  Native Son –  Richard Wright
The Bealtes: The Biography – Bob Spitz 

Movies:
Again, a lot of these are simply first times for me.

NEW:
Up
The Fantastic Mr. Fox
A Serious Man
The Princess and the Frog
 (500) Days of Summer
Me and Orson Welles
A Christmas Carol

OLD:
Winter Light
Barton Fink
Miller’s Crossing
In The Heat of the Night
The Big Sleep
The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
The Third Man
Half Nelson
Down By Law
The Taking of Pelham 1-2-3 (Original)

So that was my year. I also really enjoyed Community and Mad Men and The Wire on DVD. I hope everyone’s 2010 will be lovely, and I hope to see you guys at the Space, January 14th, in Hamden, CT where we will be debuting many songs from Seneca!!!

Chad 

Leave a Reply

